Homeland Defense — The protection of United States sovereignty, territory, domestic population, and critical infrastructure against external threats and aggression or other threats as directed by the President. Also called HD. (JP 3-27)

Homeland Security — A concerted national effort to prevent terrorist attacks within the United States; reduce America’s vulnerability to terrorism, major disasters, and other emergencies; and minimize the damage and recover from attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies that occur. Also called HS. (JP 3-27)

Key Documents

Other Documents

  • 9-11 Report by the The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States (also known as the 9-11 Commission) July 2004, an independent, bipartisan commission created by congressional legislation and the signature of President George W. Bush in late 2002, is chartered to prepare a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. 

Latest Posts

External Links

  • Department of Homeland Security has six overarching homeland security missions that make up its strategic plan: 1) Counter Terrorism and Homeland Security Threats 2) Secure Cyberspace and Critical Infrastructure 3) Strengthen Preparedness and Resilience 4) Secure U.S. Borders and Approaches 5) Preserve and Uphold the Nation’s Prosperity and Economic Security 6) Champion the DHS Workforce and Strengthen the Department.
  • Committee on Homeland Security, US House of Representatives, here you can find information about our members, hearings, bills we introduce and pass, and, of course, news on our oversight efforts.
  • The Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, is the chief oversight committee of the U.S. Senate. Formerly known as the Committee on Governmental Affairs, it took on primary oversight responsibility for the Department of Homeland Security in 2003.
  • National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS), in 2011 the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) replaced the color-coded alerts of the Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS) with the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS), designed to more effectively communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the American public. 
    May 2021 NTAS Bulletin
    January 2021 NTAS Bulletin