IWS - The Information Warfare Site
News Watch Make a  donation to IWS - The Information Warfare Site Use it for navigation in case java scripts are disabled

Google Ads

[ PCCIP Home | Main Menu | New Items | Contact Us | Advisory Committee ]

President's Commission on Critical Infrastructure Protection

August 1997 White House Release

The nominations of members to the PCCIP Advisory Committee were announced by the White House in a series of press releases which we have mirrored at our site to facilitate access for our visitors.

Below is the White House release from August 1997. The other releases are available from a listing on the main Advisory Committee Page.

President Clinton Names Sam Nunn, David Campbell, Charles Lee, and Elvin Moon To the Advisory Committee on Critical Infrastructure Protection


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release August 13, 1997


Today President Clinton announced his intent to nominate former Senator Sam Nunn as Co-Chair of the Advisory Committee to the President's Commission on Critical Infrastructure Protection, and three other Committee Members: David Campbell, Charles Lee, and Elvin Moon.

Senator Nunn, of Georgia, is a senior partner in the Atlanta law firm of King & Spalding. Senator Nunn was elected to the United States Senate from Georgia in 1972 and served for four terms. During his tenure in the U.S. Senate, he served as chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee and the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations. Senator Nunn also served on the Senate's Intelligence and Small Business Committees. He is a distinguished professor in the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs at Georgia Tech. He serves on several non-profit boards, including the Center for Strategic and International Studies, the Aspen Institute, the Carnegie Corporation of New York and Emory University. Senator Nunn also serves on the boards of publicly held corporations such as The Coca-Cola Company, the General Electric Company, National Service Industries, Inc. and Total System Services, Inc.

David N. Campbell, of Massachusetts, is President of BBN Technologies, a principal business unit of BBN Corporation which is a subsidiary of GTE Corporation. BBN is a leading provider of internetworking products and services. Previously, he served as Chairman of Computer Task Group, an Information Technology Services Company. Mr. Campbell received an M.S. in Operations Research from the State University of New York at Buffalo, and a B.S. in Mathematics from Niagara University. He has served as Chairman for a number of organizations including the Greater Buffalo United Way, Roswell Park Cancer Institute Council, and the Erie County Industrial Development Agency.

Charles R. Lee, of Connecticut, became Chairman and the Chief Executive Officer of GTE Corporation in 1992. Mr. Lee previously served as President, Chief Operating Officer, and as Director of the corporation. He joined GTE from Columbia Pictures Industries Inc., where he was Senior Vice President of Finance. Prior to joining Columbia Pictures, Mr. Lee served as Senior Vice President of Finance for Penn Central Corporation. He received a B.A. in Metallurgical Engineering from Cornell University and an M.B.A. from Harvard University. Mr. Lee also serves as Chair on the President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee.

Elvin Moon, of California, is President of E.W. Moon Engineering & Construction Management Industries. Mr. Moon's experience includes 15 years in management with corporations including Hughes Aircraft, Rockwell International, Bechtel Inc. and Weyerhauser. He currently serves as a Director on the Board of the Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco. Mr. Moon received his B.S. from the University of Arkansas and his M.B.A. from Pepperdine University.

The President's Commission on Critical Infrastructure Protection was established in July 1996 to examine both physical and electronic "cyber" threats to key U.S. Infrastructures (telecommunications, energy, banking and finance, transportation , emergency services, etc.). The Commission will develop a comprehensive national strategy for infrastructure assurance. The Advisory Committee, which is made up of infrastructure industry executives and other private-sector leaders will advise and support the Commission.

[ PCCIP Home | Main Menu | New Items | Contact Us | Advisory Committee ]

IWS Mailing Lists

Mailing Lists Overview